Marjorie Hlava

Founder, Chairman, President

An expert in taxonomies, metadata, and data science, Margie is a pioneer in databases and search. Margie’s work has been acknowledged through numerous awards, including ASIS&T’s Watson Davis award, the SLA John Cotton Dana and SLA President’s Award, recognition as an SLA Fellow, and as an Albuquerque Business First Woman of Influence for Technology. In February of 2014 she received the Miles Conrad lectureship for NFAIS. In November 2014, she received the ASIS&T Award of Merit. She was elected to the Hubbell Hall of Fame in June 2019. Active in standards development she has worked particularly on Dublin Core Z39.84, Credit Z39.104, Thesaurus Z39.19 and ISO 25964, SSOS, Abstracts Z39.14, Contributed Metadata set for DOI Syntax.


Dr. Jay Ven Eman

Chief Executive Officer

Jay guides the sales, marketing, and strategic planning departments. He writes, conducts workshops, consults, and helps build large-scale, complex, semantically-enriched databases. He is a popular speaker and has given many presentations, workshops, and seminars on semantics and knowledge organizations systems (KOS), the economics of artificial intelligence (AI), topic maps, database development, legacy file conversions, SGML, HTML, XML, and other related topics.


Heather Kotula

Vice President, Marketing and Communications

Heather plans and implements a variety of marketing activities such as trade show presence, online and social media events, conference involvement, and corporate identity maintenance. She also coordinates the annual Data Harmony Users Group (DHUG) and DHUG East meetings. Heather was named a Fellow of SLA (Special Libraries Association) in 2019, and serves as the SLA Taxonomy Division Chair and the SLA Route 66 Chapter President.


Bill Richardson

Chief Financial Officer

Bill joined Access Innovations in 1995 and is in charge of accounting, project cost accounting, cash flow forecasting and various special projects. He has a degree in Finance from the Anderson School of Business at the University of New Mexico and is a member of the New Mexico Society of Certified Public Accountants.